While returning from a house party last night I saw a wheel from a large ute come off and roll away. Sparks came off the axle from its grinding along the road. Now I know what causes so many pot holes here. I’ve been told that the large trucks they use to bring gravel to fix the roads are so heavy they actually damage the roads. Apparently money has run out for some of the road construction projects, so they will be put on indefinite hold until funding can be found. There were several people sitting in the back of the ute, who must have gotten quite a scare. Fortunately no one was hit by the loose tyre, but if they had been it could have been quite a nasty incident.

I discovered the dangers of the rain hiding the depth of pot holes after riding my bike into what seemed like a 1m drop. It’s wet socks for the rest of the today for me.

