I have just realised that I work for the Rupert Mudoch of Laos. My boss is also the co-founder of the first magazine publisher in Laos.

Every issue needs to go through the ministry of information for approval. They always require considerable edits.

He says he has tried to distance himself from the magazine in recent years and wants to sell off his share. Owning any form of media in Laos is a risky business. If you print something the government doesn’t like you may end up being taken away by the police. He describes the fear of government action as having “one foot in goal”.

The magazine is a lifestyle/business magazine. He’s asked me to write an IT article for the magazine. I think I will take up the offer as it sounds like fun. I now need to decide what I should write about.

